Board of Directors

The Board of Directors' principal goal is to protect and strengthen PIIE's excellence as an independent, nonpartisan, and intellectually rigorous policy research organization that contributes to the public's understanding of and public policies for managing the world's interdependent economy. The Board of Directors comprises a diverse group of business leaders, former high-level government officials, international civil servants, and distinguished scholars.

The Executive Committee (indicated by *) of our Board of Directors oversees PIIE's budget and management, while regularly evaluating PIIE's performance in pursuit of our mission.

Senior Management is responsible for setting PIIE's substantive agenda in consultation with the Board of Directors, the research staff, and other stakeholders.

Members of the Board

Michael A. Peterson * (Chair of the Board)
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Peter G. Peterson Foundation
Lawrence H. Summers * (Vice Chair of the Board)
Charles W. Eliot University Professor, Harvard University; former Secretary of the Treasury; former Director of the National Economic Council
Stephen Freidheim * (Chair of the Executive Committee)
CIO, Founder and Managing Partner, Cyrus Capital Partners, LLC.
Caroline Atkinson*
Former Head of Global Policy, Google, Inc.; Former Deputy National Security Adviser for International Economics to President Barack Obama
Ajay Banga
Executive Chairman, Board of Directors, MasterCard
C. Fred Bergsten
Senior Fellow and Director Emeritus, Peterson Institute for International Economics; Former Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for International Affairs
Mark T. Bertolini
Former Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and President, Aetna
Neeti Bhalla Johnson
President, Global Risk Solutions, Liberty Mutual Insurance
Frank Brosens
Principal, Cofounder, Taconic Capital Advisors L.P.
Mark Carney
Finance Adviser to the UK Prime Minister for the 2020 United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP 26) and UN Special Envoy for Climate Action and Finance; Former Governor, Bank of England; Former Governor, Bank of Canada
Ronnie C. Chan
Chairman, Hang Lung Properties Limited
Susan M. Collins*
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Michigan; Edward M. Gramlich Collegiate Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Economics, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan
Jason Cummins*
Head of Research and Chief US Economist, Brevan Howard
Barry Eichengreen
Professor, Department of Economics, University of California, Berkeley
Roger W. Ferguson, Jr.
Immediate Past President & CEO, TIAA
Stanley Fischer*
Former Vice Chairman and Member of the Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System
Peter R. Fisher*
Former Under Secretary of the US Treasury for Domestic Finance; Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth
Jacob A. Frenkel
Chairman of JPMorgan Chase International, former Governor of the Bank of Israel; former IMF Economic Counselor and Director of Research
Yukitoshi Funo
Board of Director, Institute for International Economic Studies; Former Chairman and CEO, Toyota Motor North America Inc.
Evan G. Greenberg
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chubb Limited/Chubb Group
Maurice R. Greenberg
Chairman and CEO, C.V. Starr and Co., Inc.; former Chairman, American International Group
Kelly Grier
US Chairman and Managing Partner and Americas Managing Partner, EY
Herbjorn Hansson
Chairman and CEO, Nordic American Tankers Limited
J. Tomilson Hill
President, Hill Art Foundation
Stephen Howe, Jr.
Retired Chairman and CEO, Ernst & Young LLP; Current Board Member, Carnegie Hall, Liberty Science Center, Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.
Jay Jacobs
Former President and Managing Director, PIMCO
Hugh F. Johnston
Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer, PepsiCo, Inc.
Michael Klein*
Managing Partner of M. Klein and Company, LLC; former Vice Chairman, Citigroup
Charles D. Lake II
Chairman and Representative Director, Aflac Life Insurance Japan Ltd.
David M. Leuschen
Co-Founder and Senior Managing Director, Riverstone Holdings
Andrew N. Liveris
Former Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Dow Chemical Company
Barbara G. Novick
Senior Advisor, BlackRock
Hutham S. Olayan
Chairman, The Olayan Group
Peter R. Orszag
CEO of Financial Advisory Lazard
James W. Owens
Chairman and CEO Emeritus of Caterpillar
Jonathan Pruzan
Chief Operating Officer, Morgan Stanley
Ginni M. Rometty
Former IBM Chairman, President and CEO
Lynn Forester de Rothschild *
CEO and President, E.L. Rothschild Limited
Richard E. Salomon *
Managing Partner, East End Advisors, LLC
Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara
Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, Temasek International
Mostafa Terrab
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, President, OCP S.A.
Mark Tucker
Group Chairman, HSBC Holdings plc
D. James Umpleby III
Chairman and CEO, Caterpillar Inc.
Ronald A. Williams
Retired Chairman and CEO, Aetna Inc.
Min Zhu
Chairman, National Institution of Financial Research, Tsinghua University
Robert B. Zoellick *
Senior Counselor, Brunswick Group; Senior Fellow, Harvard University's Belfer Center; former President, World Bank Group; former US Trade Representative

Honorary Directors

George David
Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, United Technologies Corporation
Alan Greenspan
Former Chairman, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; former President and Chief Executive Officer, Townsend-Greenspan and Co.; former Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers
Carla A. Hills
Chairman, Hills & Company; former United States Trade Representative; former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
Frank E. Loy
Chairman, Board of Directors, Resources for the Future; Acting Chair, Board of Directors, Populations Services International; former Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs; former Chairman of the Board, League of Conservation Voters; former President, German Marshall Fund of the United States; former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Economic Affairs
Jean-Claude Trichet
Chairman of the Group of Thirty; former President, European Central Bank; former Governor, Banque de France; former Director of the Treasury, government of France
Ernesto Zedillo
Former President of Mexico

Founding Chair

Peter G. Peterson (1926–2018; Institute Chair 1981–2018)
Founder and Chairman, Peter G. Peterson Foundation; Co-founder, The Blackstone Group; former Secretary of Commerce and Assistant to the President for International Economic Policy

* indicates Executive Committee member